Hoya Saxa - We've spent many chats sending Georgetown University and all Jesuits a whole lot of positive energy

We’ve spent many chats sending Georgetown University and all Jesuits a whole lot of positive energy.

Someone brought up “Hoya Saxa”, and wondered it means. It’s the informal motto for Georgetown. The sports teams are called Hoyas.

The official story is that “hoya” is the Ancient Greek word for “what” and “saxa” is the Latin word for “rocks”. It represents the Jesuits’ (supposed) love of both Classical languages. So “Hoya saxa” means “what rocks”.

Does that make any sense to you?

I studied Classical Languages and decided to get out my old Liddell & Scott Greek lexicon. Ancient Greek is a catchall term that describes the Greek dialects from 800 to 300BC.

To make a long story short, “hoya” also means “sheep.”

I don’t want to get too technical, but I did want to get to the bottom of this. I do want my report to stand up to the scrutiny of a Classics scholar.

“Hoya” (“sheep”) is in the accusative case, which means it is the direct object.

Saxa was a little more tricky. You just need to look at it as a Greek word, instead of Latin.

If you look at the x as an ‘xsi’, you come up with “packed”. In this case, “Hoya saxa” would mean “packed sheep”.

I wasn’t satisfied. I allowed myself to look at the word phonetically, because of the Latin misdirect. The Jesuits couldn’t make it completely obvious!

Immediately “saxa /saka” yields these definitions:
“Into the Fold!” (a classic cry of shepherds)
“a penfold for lambs”
“A sacred enclosure or sepulchre.”

It is just too much of a coincidence that both “hoya” and “saxa” relate to sheep.

My best guess is that “Hoya Saxa” states loud and clear, “Into the Fold, Sheep!”

But the alternate definition as “sepulchre” shouldn’t be forgotten. The most popular student pub immediately off campus is called “The Tombs,” and is in fact underground, beneath the very expensive restaurant called the 1789.

-F